Parallel Session Topics and Convenors

CIPANP Scientific Topics 2018

Physics at High Energies  

Conveners:     Stefania Gori, Univ. Cincinnati (gorisa@ucmail.uc.edu)

Verena Martinez-Outschoorn, Univ. Massachusetts (Amherst) (vimartin@umass.edu)

Toyoko Orimoto, Northeastern Univ. (t.orimoto@northeastern.edu)

LinTao Wang, Univ. of Chicago (liantaow@uchicago.edu)

  • Higgs physics
  • Collider searches for SUSY and other beyond-the-Standard-Model (BSM) physics
  • Theoretical interpretations
  • Next generation colliders – Future Circular Collider, International Linear Collider, …
  • Models of BSM physics

Precision Physics at High Intensities

Conveners:     Aida El-Khadra, Univ. Illinois (axk@illinois.edu)

Renee Fatemi,  Univ. Kentucky (rhfate2@g.uky.edu)

Kent Paschke, Univ. Virginia (paschke@virginia.edu)

  • Muon Physics
    • g-2
    • muon-to-electron conversion and other lepton flavor violation
    • muon capture
    • muonium studies
    • muonic Lamb shift
  • Rare meson decays
  • Weak charges of the electron and proton
  • Antihydrogen
  • Family and lepton number tests at high energies
  • Proton decay, n-nbar oscillations

Cosmic Physics and Dark Energy, Inflation, and Strong-Field Gravity

Conveners:     David Kirkby, UC Irvine (dkirkby@uci.edu)

Neelima Sehgal, Stony Brook (neelima.sehgal@stonybrook.edu)

Mark Trodden, Univ. of Pennsylvania (trodden@physics.upenn.edu)

  • Cosmic microwave background and its polarization
  • Other high-precision cosmology
  • Large-scale structure formation
  • Cosmological parameters
  • Re-ionization epoch
  • Cosmologically generated gravitational waves
  • Short-range tests of gravity and new interactions
  • Astrophysical tests of general relativity
  • Inflation and baryogenesis
  • Theories of dark energy/inflation
  • Multi-verses, cyclic universes, arrow of time

Neutrino Masses and Neutrino Mixing

Conveners:     Andre DeGouvea, Northwestern Univ. (degouvea@northwestern.edu)

Jason Detwiler, Univ. Washington (jasondet@uw.edu)

Kanika Sachdev, Fermi Lab (ksachdev@fnal.gov)

Elisa Resconi, TU Muenchen (elisa.resconi@tum.de)

  • Neutrino oscillations in neutrino beams and with reactor fluxes
  • Double beta decay
  • Solar and atmospheric neutrinos
  • Direct neutrino mass measurements
  • Cosmological constraints on neutrino mass
  • Neutrino flavor physics of supernovae
  • Neutrino cross section measurements 

Tests of Symmetries and the Electroweak Interaction

Conveners:     Jordy de Vries, NIKHEF (Amsterdam) (jordy.de.vries@nikhef.nl)

Brad Filippone, Caltech (bradf@caltech.edu)

Bob Redwine, MIT (redwine@mit.edu)

  • CKM tests in neutron and nuclear beta decay
  • Hadronic parity violation
  • EDMs of the electron, neutron, atoms, and molecules
  • P- and T-odd neutron and nuclear beta decay correlations
  • Neutron lifetime

Dark Matter

Conveners:     Matt Pyle, UC Berkeley (mpyle1@berkeley.edu)

Jiangli Liu, Shanghai Jiao Tong Univ. (jianglai.liu@sjtu.edu.cn)

George Fuller, UCSD (gfuller@ucsd.edu)

  • Direct detection of WIMP dark matter
  • Astrophysical searches for dark matter
  • Collider searches for dark matter
  • Axions and other light dark matter candidates
  • Theories of dark matter and its interactions
  • Instrumentation

Particle and Nuclear Astrophysics

Conveners:     Barry Davids, TRIUMF (davids@triumf.ca)

Samaya Nissanke, Radboud Univ. (samaya@astro.ru.nl)

Masaru Shibata, Kyoto Univ. (masaru.shibata@aei.mpg.de)

Rebecca Surman, Notre Dame Univ. (rsurman@nd.edu)

  • Supernovae: Observations and modeling
  • Neutron stars and neutron star mergers
  • Multi-messenger astrophysics
  • Big bang nucleosynthesis
  • Explosive nucleosynthesis
  • Detection of high energy cosmic rays (IceCube, Pierre Auger, …)
  • Cosmic ray sources and acceleration mechanisms: nucleons, nuclei, electrons/positrons, gammas, neutrinos
  • Underground laboratories

Heavy Flavors and the CKM Matrix

Conveners:     Wolfgang Altmannshofer, Univ. Cincinnati (altmanwg@ucmail.uc.edu)

                      Chris Bouchard, Univ. Glasgow (chris.bouchard@glasgow.ac.uk)

                      Christoph Schwanda, HEPHY (Wien) (christoph.schwanda@oeaw.ac.at)

  • Decays, mixings, lifetimes, and CP asymmetries of charmed and b-flavored hadrons
  • QCD calculations that aid in the determination of the CKM matrix
  • Interpretations of non-standard model effects and extensions
    • BES3, CLEO, BaBar and Belle results
    • LHC flavor physics results
    • Rare decays
    • Lattice QCD calculations of heavy quark physics
    • BSM contributions to flavor physics

QCD, Hadron Spectroscopy, and Exotics

Conveners:     Raul Briceno, JLab (rbriceno@jlab.org)

Yuanning Gao, Tsinghua Univ. (gaoyn@mail.tsinghua.edu.cn)

Seamus Riordan, ANL (sriordan@anl.gov)

Bernhard Ketzer, Bonn Univ. (ketzer@hiskp.uni-bonn.de)

  • Diagonal and transition form factors
  • Proton charge radius
  • Light quark meson and baryon spectroscopy
  • Spectroscopy of heavy quark states
  • Models
  • Lattice QCD calculations
  • Determining hadronic properties from experimental data

Parton and Gluon Distributions in Nucleons and Nuclei

Conveners:     Zhangbo Kang, UCLA (zkang@physics.ucla.edu)

Jen-Chieh Peng, Univ. Illinois (jcpeng@illinois.edu)

Juan Rojo, Oxford Univ. (juan.rojo@physics.ox.ac.uk)

Ralf Seidl, BNL (rseidl@rcf.rhic.bnl.gov)

  • Unpolarized parton distribution functions
  • Longitudinal and transverse spin structure of the nucleon
  • Generalized parton distributions
  • Nucleon spin
  • Quark-gluon correlations
  • Non-perturbative models
  • Lattice QCD calculations
  • Hadronization

Nuclear Forces and Structure, NN Correlations, and Medium Effects

Conveners:     John Arrington, ANL (johna@anl.gov)

Scott Bogner, MSU (bogner@nscl.msu.edu)

Jerry Miller, Univ. Washington (miller@phys.washington.edu)

Brad Sherrill, MSU (sherrill@frib.msu.edu)

  • Polarizabilities
  • Structure functions and the Coulomb sum rule
  • EMC effect, color transparency
  • Short-range correlations
  • Nuclear forces, chiral interactions
  • Nuclear models vs. ab initio methods
  • Nuclei and nuclear forces from lattice QCD
  • Nuclei far from the valley of stability
  • Neutron-rich nuclei, nuclear matter, and the equation of state
  • Nucleon and nuclear structure for fundamental symmetries

Quark Matter and High Energy Heavy Ion Collisions

Conveners:     Jacquelyn Noronha-Hostler, Rugers Univ. (jacquelyn.noronhahostler@rutgers.edu)

Marta Verweij, CERN (marta.verweij@cern.ch)

Nu Xu, LBNL (nxu@lbl.gov)

  • QCD phase diagram
  • Initial state effects
  • Correlations and fluctuations
  • Theromodynamics and hadron chemistry
  • Relations to other strongly interacting systems
  • Open heavy flavor and quarkonia
  • Jets